Sign in or Register Home
DiamondRing.comYour Online Jewelry Shopping Network
 Ideal Cut Diamond Studs at James Allen 
Buy Sell Education Forum Directory Blog  
View Recent Products View Posts Ask Us Ask our Network Jewelers for a quote on a diamond/gemstone/jewelry

Post Reply New Thread

Old BassBrotha

My Profile
Registered User : offline
Years:

My Karma
Power: 0
BassBrotha is on a distinguished road

Comparison of IGI and GIA with my future fiancees ring!
Quote this post and reply to it Post#1 @ 12-09-06 , 12:27 AM

I have been lurking around here for the past couple of months, and decided it might be time for me to actually make a post. After 5.5 years of dateing I have finally decided to pop the question. I am a student so I'm not rich but I did manage to save a decent amount of money this summer to put towards a ring. 2 weeks ago I found THE diamond and had a custom setting made. I'm extremely happy with how it turned out!
The main reason for my posting is that I have noticed a lot of people confused about the different diamond grading establishments, and since my diamond came with both IGI and GIA certification, I thought I'd post the differences between them.

Both gradeings were very similar.

My GIA report was...

weight: 0.66 Carat
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Clarity: VVS2
Colour: H
Measurements : 5.55-5.59 X 3.45 MM

and IGI Hearts and Arrows Diamond Summation

Clarity: VVS(2)
Colour: Near Colourless H
Cut Grad: Ideal
Measurements : 5.55-5.62 X 3.48 MM

So the only differences in it were slight variations in measurements, quite close overall! From everything I have seen, IGI seems to be Very similar to GIA when it comes to Round Brilliants. I'd still prefer a GIA, but just a little bit of comforting information for those of you with RB's that are graded by IGI.

p.s. how does everyone take such great pictures of their rings on here? I tried for 20 minutes and these were the best I could come up with! might be time for a new camera!