Sign in or Register Home
DiamondRing.comYour Online Jewelry Shopping Network
 Ideal Cut Diamond Studs at James Allen 
Buy Sell Education Forum Directory Blog  
View Recent Products View Posts Ask Us Ask our Network Jewelers for a quote on a diamond/gemstone/jewelry

Post Reply New Thread

Old rural

My Profile
Registered User : offline
Years:

My Karma
Power: 0
rural is on a distinguished road
Hits: Out=0, In=2

Quote this post and reply to it Post#1 @ 12-11-03 , 01:49 PM

Hi, I am a newbie to the site but I have been searching on internet and by foot for an engagement ring. I have been to Jared, Shane Co., and London Gold, the three biggest names in the Phoenix area. The mall stores such as Ben Bridge, Kay, Fred Meyers all either have higher prices or lower quality diamonds.

My first concern is that Shane Co. doesnt havent have the diamonds certified - I can have them send it out for independent certification for a $150 fee and wait two weeks.

My second concern is that Jared uses IGI for lab certification which I have read in DT is not that great.

My third concern is that Jared (IGI), Shane Co. and London Gold (EGL certified) all have lifetime guarantees as long as you bring in the ring twice a year for inspection - if you lose the rock you get it replaced - no worry. Can any internet based places say the same or does it really matter.

My fourth concern is that if I find a good local small jeweler, can I get any replacement/maintenance agreements?

Finally, I am looking for a 0.63-0.66 carat, VS2, D or F, princess with a length to width ratio of equal to or less than 1.05 (mostly square), no fluorescence. What is a reasonable price? I am looking at $2k at Jared.

Any opinions/thoughts/experiences/
suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I need help! I am trying to get the ring by 12/27/03.

PS Jared also pushes that if you get a princess cut, you should use the v-shaped prongs to hold the gem better, but they look so bulky to me. Any opinions?